Y- MBLAQ

Before you ask, it’s pronounced “Em-blaq”, I was confused at first too.

This song is kind of funny~ The lyrics seem innocent enough, until you put it with the MV!

Lyrics: 3/5
I can’t tell how they were using the “Y”… sometimes I think it is “why”, other times I think it is supposed to represent something else, but I’m not sure what that is… The song is addicting, that’s for sure, but now that I’m watching the MV on the side of my screen as I type, I just don’t quite get it… The lyrics are mainly (I think) asking the girl for a reason she left, and giving her the opportunity to take it back and return (and from the story in the MV she should have listened!!!).
Give it to my Y/ Listen to my Y/ please look back at me/ give it to my Y/ answer me, tell me why you’re acting like this to me

Dancing: 5/5
The dances are really heavy on everyone lining up behind one another and then jumping out to the side. I think they are still deciding exactly what they are within their chosen music style. Their first song had a very simple and repetitive dance, this one is a bit tougher, but also very simple at times.

Story: 6/5
The story is very- WAIT, WHAT THE HELL?!?!?!?! And I like it. I really love stories that don’t have common endings. Throughout the story you see Joon trying to get over a love he had that was lost. He remembers all the good times he had with the girl (from the lyrics you know she’s the one who ended it). He is depressed and sometimes angry he can’t get the images out of his head. He writes in his diary that he wants to just erase her. Then he showers and gets dressed in a nice suit, puts a ticket (I think it’s for a plane) into his jacket pocket and leaves. He finds the girl again at some kind of exclusive room in a club with Seungho (the leader of MBLAQ). He’s obviously her new boyfriend or a guy flirting with her, and she is definitely interested. Joon pulls Seungho away from his girl, then grabs her to take her away from the club with him. She pulls her arm from his without even getting up, angry that he is there. Joon remembers the time he reached out to her when she was sitting on his bed. As he remembers this we see him in the club also reaching out to her once again. Until… HOLY SHIT HE’S HOLDING A GUN!!! He shoots her! Seriously! He just shoots her in the head! (This is why they got an extra point ^^). He shoots his girl (now that whole “I’m going to erase her” thing he wrote is sounding pretty evil!) and drives away. As he drives he remembers all the love they shared and all the fun they had. He gets out of his car on a bridge, drops the gun, and screams to the air.

Other Interesting Things
I really hate their outfits… The whole neon look is great and all, but why do all the pants have large black triangles on the crotch? It looks like each member is wearing a fancy diaper…

I love uncommon endings to stories, and shooting your ex is definitely uncommon in MVs like this!!!

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

