I’m A Loner- C.N.BLUE

This song did extremely well for C.N.BLUE’s debut song (it even won a weekly music program award against such veteran groups as 2AM and 2NE1).

Lyrics: 5/5
The song has a jazzy feel you don’t usually find in mainstream music these days. It’s about drifting apart from the one you love. The singer is talking to the woman they once loved, pointing out how they are drifting and then about how the relationship eventually died entirely (She cheated). I really like the jazz style to the sung words, it works.
I’m a loner, I’m a loner/ daridiridara doo/ I’m a loner, I’m a loner/ daridiridara doo/ I’m a loner, I’m a loner/ a loner that is sad in love/ and shed tears in love/ sad sad sad sad sad sad sad tonight/ my heart hurts/ oh no no no no no no nobody knows/ Ignoring my feelings/ one two three four five six seven at night/ staying awake so many nights/ I’m comforting myself

Dance: NA
C.N.BLUE is not a dance group. Every member plays an instrument. Think FT Island, but with even the lead singer holding a guitar. And actually the face of C.N.BLUE is not the lead vocal, he shares with the others.

Story: 3/5
I’m not sure exactly what is going on. You see each of the members in a different situation, all are alone. One is in a fight, one working alone in a library, one sitting in his room, and one wandering on his own. The one wandering goes to each member and gives them an over-sized blue diamonds (diamond as in shape, not material). The members go on until they cannot stand where they are anymore. Holding the diamonds they scream in frustration. Finally they all leave where they are and come together, performing their song on stage. I think there is potential for a good background story here, but it is a bit abstract. I’m not sure what the diamonds were supposed to be, which takes down a point. I think it was supposed to represent the loner’s being tired of being solo, and so they come together so they are no longer alone. Also, the member who is handing out the stones is the lead guitarist, but not the leader of the group. I think it would have been more fitting with the story if it was the leader calling everyone together.

Other Interesting Things
This group taunted fans with previews of this song for a while, and it really helped build up the hype. Also, the leader was one of the stars of the hit drama “You’re Beautiful” which aired just last year. It is a really great show, I recommend checking it out. His popularity from the drama is what made him the face of the group from an early point.

I like this group a lot. They aren’t an idol dance group (which I tend to favor), but they have a unique style of their own and are fun to watch perform. They are very similar to FT Island, with one fewer member, so I think they will share a lot of fans.

Remember Rant #7 against entertainment companies putting their names into songs? Well, they didn’t do that here, but they did something that might be worse: C.N.BLUE is from C.N. Entertainment… THEY PUT THEIR NAME INTO THE BAND. That annoys me, but the name works… As for the BLUE part, each member represents an emotion and those together form the name: Burning, Lovely, Untouchable, and Emotional.

  1. #1 by cutejet623 on September 17, 2010 - 4:29 pm

    I totally agree with you. My usual concept of the Korean Boy bands are group of boys singging ang dancing. CN Blue broke that concept when I first heard them in Youtube. This group are really good in their craft. They are very very good musicians. They are excellent in performing live performances. Their music has a grove that it’s addicting to listen over and over.

  2. #2 by OnAFallingStar (@OnAFallingStar) on July 6, 2012 - 11:06 pm

    haha actually, CN Blue is from FNC Entertaiment, The same company as FT Island which would also explain their similarities. IMO though, they both have really different musical styles and concepts which is great considering the fact that sometimes artists from the same company can end up sounding too similar for my tastes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

