Love- C.N.BLUE

I don’t usually review two songs from the same group in a row, but I was really impressed by this one. Combined with “I’m a Loner” it really sets the tone for this groups style, and I think they have a unique fusion of old jazz, rock, and pop. It’s a well directed and set up MV, definitely my favorite over “I’m A Loner”.

Lyrics: 5/5
It is a lot like David Cook’s “Lie” or Davichi’s “Time, Please Stop”. The song is about being left by a girl and asking her to lie and take you back, just for a moment. It isn’t a sad song at all though, it is extremely upbeat and happy. It actually matches the tempo of “I’m a Loner”, but overall has a higher attitude.
Tell me why why why/ I want only you/ No bye bye bye/ don’t say those sad words/ I can try try try/ if you were to come back again/ you know I want to get get get your love/ Love love love/ everybody clap clap clap/ I want you back to me/ Even if it’s a dream/ I want to go back to when I held your hand/ love love love/ everybody clap clap clap/ I want you back to me/ even if it’s a dream/ if you were to come back/ I’d feel like I own the world

Dance: NA
C.N.BLUE isn’t a dance group, they all play their own instruments.

Story: 7/5
This is what makes the MV perfect to me. The story is brilliantly done and tells a clear story. The members of C.N.BLUE arrive together in a bar, presumably after a performance since they all have their instruments in cases and the drummer has his sticks with him. The barkeep dumps the menu’s in front of them and walks away with slumped shoulders. They look around the bar and notice it is full of people with the same attitude (I think it is mostly full of women, that is what they show, but there are a few guys in the corners). All are supposed to have had their hearts broken by guys. Each is looking at a phone or sitting quietly alone. The members see a stage for live performances in the corner and decide to play a song to try and liven the place up. After they have the bar awake they head to the roof, where more heartbroken people, and continue. They sing their song of heartbreak and manage to lift the people from their depression and bring everyone together on the roof of the building where they can dance and have fun. It fits the attitude of the song perfectly. It is not stated specifically in the song, but the MV gives the feel that the people on the roof and the people in the bar are halves of the same couple, since a lot of the guys on the roof are holding the same phones as the women and they couples pair up.

Other Interesting Things
I really like this MV. The song is more upbeat than others of it’s kind, and you get shots of the other members more than the leader. I like MVs like this with a lot of group shots, unlike FT Island MVs which are very singer-heavy.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

