Rant #10- Watch Your Words

I think this doesn’t need an introduction, since my three issues are with separate incidents. Celebrities really need to watch what they say, insulting one another for no reason makes no sense.

1) U-Kiss vs DJ Mo Twister
This issue really surprised me. DJ Mo Twister is Fillipino, so it isn’t like he has ever worked with U-Kiss. there is no explanation for why he felt the need to speak against the groups “Bingeul Bingeul” styles. Through his twitter he said “I’m sorry all you K-Pop fans but you can’t tell me that’s a heterosexual man, you just can’t. I stand corrected, these K-Pop guys don’t look gay, they look like lesbians.” Ok, seriously? The members have never even spoken to or of this guy, why does he feel the need to insult them like that? It was uncalled for and a just plane stupid move.

2) Baby VOX vs DJ DOC
This issue began between just one member of DJ DOC and Baby VOX. It escalated to the point where the two went to court over this. Baby VOX attempted to break into the English market with their seventh album. They were taken to court over a legal dispute regarding who held the copyright over a Tupac song (their company got permission from his record company, but his mother still held copyright and sued them). The DJ DOC member (I couldn’t find which one) spoke against Baby VOX in anger over the court case. The dispute between the two groups arose when he referred to the members as “Prostitutes” because of their short skirts and revealing stage outfits (it wasn’t actually anything too bad, the style was just more conservative five years ago than it is now). The court case was an issue between Tupac’s mother and Baby VOX’s producers, DJ DOC was involved in no way, shape, or form. The member had no reason to insult the girls. I don’t care if he really felt offended by their revealing outfits, he had no place in the dispute and therefore his opinions were not required or desired.

3) Stephanie Meyer vs Stephen King
Out of the three issues this one shocked me the most. It also annoyed me. In an interview Stephen King was asked what he thought of Stephanie Meyer’s “Twilight” series (the last book had just been released). Stephen King went into a rant about how Stephanie Meyer is a horrible writer and should never have released a single book. he insulted both her and her books. I don’t care if you are a “Twilight” fan or not, but you have to admit that was going overboard. Stephanie Meyer has never spoken against Stephen King, and even if he did not like the books he did not have to make such an attack. He could have just said he was not partial to them or they were not his favorite style. But to personally attack the author? that was going way too far. It isn’t like Stephen King is a very good author anyways. I have absolutely no respect for King as a writer anymore.

  1. #1 by Mike Boozer on July 27, 2010 - 3:02 pm

    haha, good stuff

    -Mike, somebodyhadtosayit.com

  2. #2 by Kai on September 29, 2013 - 3:18 pm

    I completely agree with you on number 1. However I don’t why it’s so bad for someone to voice their opinions. The member of DJ Doc has 100% right to say what he wants, that’s him thoghts and it was downright stupid for Baby Vox to even think of putting Tupac in their songs, copyrighted or not. Tupac and pop don’t mix, his mother has a right to sue cause she knows this tarnished Tupacs thoughts, vies and such. Lastly king is an amazing writer, I’m proud of him for speaking up against her rather then pulling on a two face and lying like most people do. And dont say that he’s not a good writer, you know very well he is the best of the best.

    • #3 by pretendthisiswitty on April 4, 2014 - 11:37 pm

      I agree that there was a definite case against Baby VOX, but I don’t see how it was DJ DOC’s place to actually make a statement to the press about it. But whatever.

      And I do still disagree about King being “the best of the best”. I’m sure his books appeal to a certain crowd, but I’m just not part of that group. Compared to writers I personally enjoy, and styles I prefer, I find that King *does* have pretty good underlying stories (except for during the several years after his accident. I understand why his books took the direction they did with his real-life experience and all, but… Well, he kind of lost his voice for a bit), but he takes WAY too long to get off the ground. I’ve tried reading several of his books, such as “IT”, but 150 pages in and they’re still introducing characters and next to nothing has happened so far… It’s disappointing. However, his movie “Rose Red” scared the crap out of me as a child and I *loved* “Misery” and thought “Carrie” was pretty good (not my usual cup of tea), but beyond that I find his writing tends to kind of ramble.

      I don’t think it’s right for writers, singers, anyone to attack someone else just for the publicity. You can voice your opinions, that’s not the issue here, the issue is I don’t see how it was their business to call the press and issue their comment on an issue that has nothing to do with them. It’s publicity grabbing. And, if I had to give a % to how great Steven King is in my opinion, ranking writers, I’d say half his work earns him a solid 45%, while the rest can get him up to around the top 15%.

  1. Twilight News

Leave a Reply

