Waking Ned Divine

This is a little Irish flick, so I don’t know if you have heard of it, let alone seen it. I personally love English European cinema, but it was still coincidence that I came across this one.

Plot: 4/5
When Ned Divine dies from shock after winning the lottery, two longtime friends, Michael and Jackie, discover the body and agree Ned would want them to benefit from his good luck. They embark upon an outrageous scheme to claim the ticket- but first they have to get all the townsfolk to go along with their plan!

It is a simple plot, that is why I took a point off, but the execution was great. The story is slow enough paced that it carries that “sleepy old town” feel and yet not so slow that you are bored. There are quiet plot lines running in the background, a love story between two people in the village, the routine investigation from the Lottery commission which puts everyone at risk, and an angry old woman who threatens everything. These plot lines don’t ever grow to a very severe level.

I think kids wouldn’t like this movie much, but it’s great if you have a calmer personality or are tired. It is a softer kind of film, a lot like “The Secret of Roan Inish” ( ❤ ❤ ❤ ). Actually I know mostly older people, such as parents or grand parents, who enjoyed this, but saying it’s an “Old Peoples” movie would make it sound like a teen can’t enjoy it either (I’m 19 and I love it).

Acting: 5/5
Kekeke, I have a secret for loving this movie so much ^^. It isn’t the two HILARIOUS old men (You’ll recognize Jackie as the guardian of the wall in Stardust), but it is a relatively minor character. The girl in that quiet love story I told you about played the Sylkie in “The Secret of Roan Inish”. Lol, I REALLY love that movie ^^

Yes, it is a naked octogenarian on a motorbike, just laugh and go with it

Directing: 5/5
This is the quiet and unnoticed sort of directing, which is fine by me. It is an unbelievable kind of comedy, but the camera angles and cuts seem to acknowledge this and the film almost has a just-laugh-and-go-with-it feel, which is the overall attitude as well. I respect the director greatly for this!

Other Things
I don’t have much to say on this. The film is British humor at it’s peak, with a dash of slapstick at the very end (So an Eastern Canadian humor???). It will make you laugh, and it is a cute movie that you won’t regret seeing. I would promise you, but I don’t know your personality, and your reaction to the film kind of depends on that.

  1. #1 by free regcure license key generator download on August 2, 2010 - 8:03 pm

    Just stumbled upon your website while doing a Google search. Great info BTW.

Leave a Reply

