I Must Not Chase the Boys- Play

I think this is one of the only songs by them I still like. I really loved their music and everything back when they were promoting, but this is the only MV I look back on and don’t think “What the hell was I thinking?”

Lyrics
The song is about being caught between a child and a woman. They want to go after boys but still aren’t supposed to, which is driving them crazy. It has a faster feel and isn’t their usual kiddie-pop sound. For the first time they don’t dance and have a band with them, so I guess it feels more rock, but it’s still a pop group for sure. The song is sexier and more mature than any of their other MVs.
I wanna give into the woman in me/ I wanna be someone they don’t want me to be/ the moral of the story is I’ve got no choice/ I must not chase-/ I wanna go left when they tell me go right/ Don’t wanna be the little girl they’re kissin’ good night/ the moral of the story is I’ve got no choice/ I must not chase the boys

Dancing
None here, the members are at microphones in front of a band, so they don’t dance.

Story: NA~ish/5
The sets here play large parts, but there isn’t really a story. You see each member in a different location. One is chasing the ghost of a boy, like a memory, and one is locked in a large cage with the key around her neck (which is kind of weird~). The last two members are both writing “I must not chase the boys” over and over again, even on their own arms (that was a pretty cool costume idea!).

Other Things
This was a good look for Play, but I remember it being a huge culture shock for their fans. I was around the average age of the fan group back when it came out. After the other kiddie-friendly Play this sexier and older one was just too abrupt.

I REALLY love their outfits. The corset-tops are great and really work well with the feel and pace of the song.

Visually this is one of my favorites. The colors are all faded out so that it is just a step above black and white, and it was filmed in such a way that I think it made the members look less… stupid? than their other MV (I will review that one eventually). It looks very intelligent and thought out, like they put effort into breaking the kiddie-pop image and didn’t just half-ass it.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

