Bad Girl Good Girl- Miss A

My bad- I totally thought I’d already reviewed this one!

Lyrics:
The song is really unique. It’s not about being in love or meeting a nice guy. It’s a message to anyone who tries to judge them saying that that person doesn’t know them, so they should keep their mouths shut. They describe themselves a little and tease the boy for being an idiot.
hello hello hello/ if you have no self confidence/ can’t you just step back?/ why do you keep talking?/ do you know that I can see inside you clearly?/ on the outside bad girl/ on the inside good girl/ even when you don’t now me/ and you only see my external appearance/ the way you look at me/ like I’m a pitiful girl/ it makes me laugh/ when I dance bad girl/ when I love good girl/ when you watch me dance/ you’re dumbstruck/ and then you point your finger at me/ your hypocrisy makes me laugh

Dance
This song tends to a faster and slightly sexy dance (like most JYP groups). There are no slower moments and at one point they even lay on the floor for their dance. I think the dance allowed the song to gain more popularity than it might have on it’s own. Not that it’s a bad song or anything, it’s just one of those dances that you link directly with the song (like Super Junior’s “Sorry, Sorry” dance).

Story
There is kind of sort of not really a story. At the beginning you see the girls entering their dance school. They run into a guy who is talking trash about them and keep going, leaving him to pick up his own books. They enter their dance room and that is where the performance in the MV takes place for the most part (some of it is out in the hall). So it’s kind of like the song is what they are thinking as they enter the room.

Other Things
I really like this group, they have a unique feel for girl groups comparable to F(x). F(x) is unique among girl groups for being an idol group with an overall tomboy feeling (no, it’s *not* just Amber). Miss A is the other end of that. They don’t have the feel of a group catering to teens like most of the idol girl groups, they have an older audience feel. I think they will be most popular with the college or late high school age, and adults could probably listen to them comfortably.

This MV comes before “Breathe” and so I am trying to hold it totally separately, but I just wanted to say again that “Breathe” totally destroys the image created by “Bad Girl Good Girl” for Miss A. They grabbed the older fans with this song, but “Breathe” might only find popularity with younger children, and they can’t hold both groups well without sacrificing a lot of the music style JYP groups tend to have.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

