Death Note: The Last Name (Japanese)

I didn’t want to watch this today… I love the “Death Note” series, and I didn’t want to finish watching the movies so soon~~~ I really love the mind games between the characters… But this is my favorite in the series, so I couldn’t resist…

Plot: 9/5

Light Yagami has joined the investigation team in pursuit of the serial killer known as “Kira”. While L strongly suspects Light is “Kira” Light continues to seek out L’s real name so he can kill him using the Death Note. Things get more unpredictable with the appearance of a second “Kira” who possesses the “Eyes of Death God”, enabling the owner to see the true identity and lifespan of any person.

Light soon learns the identity of the second “Kira” and wants to join forces to get rid of L. Will L be able to unmask “Kira” before he gets killed? Which name will be the last written in the Death Note?

Yep, that pretty much sums it up. This is a pure sequel to “Death Note”. That means there is no sudden change to the storyline or totally different direction to the piece. It picks up exactly where the last left off and keeps going without breaking stride. The two could be patched together into one movie perfectly, but it’d be really long (not that I would mind!).

Acting: 4/5

This really hasn’t changed too much. The supporting cast have gotten better, that’s for sure, but there are still the same problems from Tatsuya Fujiwara, the actor playing Light. He’s still awkward to watch whenever he has to show strong emotion.

This movie reinforced my belief that there should have been a day or two long “Dying” workshop mandatory to all actors who die in the movie. The “heart attacks” were way overdone, and some died instantly while others stayed alive for long periods of time (I won’t give anything away but his name starts with an “L”) *grin* see what I did there? you already know one of the dead starts with an “L”, but you don’t know if it’s “Light” or “L”!!!*grin*. So yeah, mandatory classes on how to die. Nothing wrecks a movie faster than an obnoxiously long death.

Kenichi Matsuyama ~(^_^)~ that’s all I’ll say about that.

Directing: 5/5

Nothing wrong here this time around. I loved the directing and there were none of those painful and corny shots that were found in the first movie. I’m not exaggerating when I say this is my favorite of the three Death Note movies. It really is quite brilliant and the directing definitely picked up.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

