Why (Keep Your Head Down)- TVXQ

I like this MV, don’t get me wrong. The stylist provoked much annoyance, so there are tons of pictures ^^

Lyrics: 5/5
The song is (according to SM Entertainment, see the last paragraph for an expansion on that) about a relationship that ended badly. It sounds, from the lyrics, that the guy got sick of a shallow and immature relationship and being caused pain by love, but the girl cut him loose and started telling lies. The guy is being treated like a bad guy, and he’s venting at the girl who he left, saying why he’s leaving and telling her to shut her mouth and stop the lies. It’s a very angry song. I don’t like the melody much, but the lyrics are cool.
Keep your head down/ I loved you but now I’ll let go of you/ Why did you leave me so easily?/ Why did you see me as someone easy/ Why do you rip my heart apart/ Why if everything was a dream of a moment/ Why if there was time to fix this/ Why, I wished that you were happy

This week on "What Not to Wear"...

Dancing: 4/5
I don’t like all of the choreography, but it’s understandable. I was a fan of the harder choreography the two used to do, and yeah, this is pretty tough stuff, but it’s nothing in league with what they did with “Mirotic” or “Purple Line” as DBSK. When I say it’s understandable that is because as DBSK they had 5 members to split singing among, and here it’s just 2 people. That’s the same thing BoA does, leaves the stronger dances to her backups so she has enough breath left to finish the song. There are a few moves I really like, but some that are really weird…

Lower the hair, ditch the shoulderpads

Story: NA
There is no story beyond the lyrics, but the sets are pretty cool. Honestly I almost didn’t watch this MV because, when I saw the little preview on YouTube, I thought I was looking at Mirotic. There is one particular set that looks almost identical to the “Mirotic” main stage. I thought a fan had put the song to the other MV. But other than that one location I like what they did. Even the individual shots are in some pretty cool sets.

Other Things

Yunho’s expressions are great (kind of ironic considering that was what drew so much criticism when he attempted acting). He has the proper face if he’s the lead on camera or not. I say this because Changmin really should be paying more attention… That boy’s face is all over the place. He doesn’t seem to know if he’s supposed to look sad or angry, and at once point he’s totally spacing out.

Twins~

The lip-sync of TVXQ/DBSK has always been a nightmare. I get that they do this over and over and over again when filming the MV, probably dozens of times, and so they can’t sing even a little while filming (they’d be too tired), but still. They never mastered the lip-sync aspect of their performances. Especially Changmin. I pick on him a lot, but his face~ he needs to practice in front of a mirror or something.

The real reason the song is called "Why?"

My first reaction to seeing Changmin’s outfit in solo shots was… why? My first reaction to seeing the shots on the “Mirotic”-style set was… are they twins? My first reaction to the fur outfits was… OMG, what the h*ll is that??? I don’t like Changmin’s solo shirt, the shoulder pads are weird. And I HATE those fur outfits, it looks like the sewing machine had a seizure. Oh, and the “Mirotic” set outfits are too similar, at one point I had trouble telling the two apart, they need a more distinct style. As it is if you told me they were brothers (and I didn’t already know better) I would have asked if they were fraternal twins. And finally I pick on Changmin’s hair. They need to lower the altitude, airplanes could crash. The flatter hair is great, but the super tall just looks bad~

There is some controversy with the lyrics, about if the song is a message to the former DBSK members. I don’t know, but SM said if anyone thinks that they just need to look at the lyrics so…. that doesn’t really take a side. Honestly I don’t see them going this far to send a strong message to the three members who left, they’ve been quiet about it for 2 years, but there is an undeniable similarity in the feelings expressed in the lyrics and the statements that, at least initially, were being made. You choose for yourself what the meaning of the song is- is it about a treacherous girlfriend, or about the disappointment and anger of a group splitting after so long?

  1. #1 by electronic book reader on February 2, 2011 - 10:40 pm

    Great review. Thanks for posting such an in deepness impression. I’ve handled one in the shop, but your enumerate covered alot of ground that i couldn’t accompanying such a microscopic number of time. based on my in-store experience and your divulge i reconsider i’ll be

  2. #2 by kindle price on February 3, 2011 - 5:25 am

    This is a good weblog. I median it. You’ve got a best business transaction opinion of this matter, and so much interest you have got a layout here that is not too flashy, but plots a statement as big as what youre expressing. Better job!.

Leave a Reply

