Announcement: A Recommendation from Me

I know this page is where I review stuff and address some different Entertainment-related rumors for you all, but it is still my place, so I wanted to make a non-entertainment recommendation to those of you doing Undergraduate studies.

Those of you who have been following this page for a long time may know that I have been studying in South Korea for several months, and will be returning in just over a month for a final semester abroad. I wanted to recommend to you all the program I am studying with.

It is called the “Yonsei University Global Village Program”, long name, I know. The Global Village (I’m just going to call it “GV” from now on) is an AMAZING program devoted to teaching students about Korean culture. All international students accepted into the GV will live at Yonsei University’s Wonju campus (an hour and a half outside of Seoul, which is a popular weekend destination) with dorm rooms provided at no cost. Every other week participants will receive a living-expenses stipend of around $275 US Dollars. They also pay you $400 back for your airfare at the beginning of the program and another $400 at the end. Between the airfare and living stipend I know for a fact it is possible to live in Korea without spending any of your actual money (except for the around $400 of your airfare that the stipend doesn’t pay back, because a flight to Korea cost a good $1,200). And you don’t have to sacrifice trips to Seoul and such to do so.

In GV every international student gets 3 Korean roommates to help them learn about foreign cultures and teach Korean. International students go on field trips all around Korea (expenses paid by the GV) to learn about culture and just have fun (we went to an amusement park and a ski resort in addition to a traditional mask festival and hiking to temples). Currently there are students from the US and Spain there, but people from all countries are welcome! International students will also meet with 7-8 Korean students over the course of a week, for 1 hour with each person, to help teach in an informal setting.

I will link below two sites. The first is the official program site (In English) for those of you interested. I can promise you that the staff at Yonsei University are very good. The Assistant Director of the program, Yunkyung Ji, is the one who will reply to any e-mails and the one you will deal with the most if you are accepted. I can assure any parents out there that she is brilliant and replies to e-mails promptly (I have a theory that she never leaves the office). She is very friendly and will help answer any questions.

http://global.yonsei.ac.kr/

The second link is to a blog I kept (poorly) while I was in Korea. Now that I am back in the States I am copying the notes I’ve made and organizing my pictures, so it will also be updated a lot in the next few weeks. If you have any questions or just want to see the campus and what we did for fun you can check it out. Next semester I will be updating it with videos, so it will be way more interesting ^^

http://mymaggiemoo.wordpress.com/

Ok, I’m done plugging my program ^^ Honestly though, it’s incredible. I just got back from my first semester (you can choose to spend 1 or 2 semesters there) and I already can’t wait to go back!!! ^^

  1. #1 by kimberly on January 17, 2011 - 2:23 pm

    how do i join

    • #2 by tweetweetbang on January 17, 2011 - 4:38 pm

      All you have to do is click “Application” and “International Student” and mail your application to them with all the paperwork they require.

  2. #3 by math games on January 29, 2011 - 7:51 am

    first!

Leave a Reply

