Rant #22- The Reshuffle of U-Kiss

Alright, I’m finally going to address this issue.

Just before 0330 was released it was suddenly announced that NH Media (the company in charge of U-Kiss) had, for lack of a better word, fired Kibum and Alexander, two of the most popular members. They had done this two months before and kept it secret.

The fans, needless to say, exploded over this. There have been mixed reactions to the two members who took their places.

It took me a long time to figure out exactly where I stand on this. I get that the company wanted to reinvent U-Kiss, but I think what they did was wrong- Alexander and Kibum were key parts of the group. At the same time I think the remixed group sounds better… though I’m still a die-hard Alexander fan.

In the new song U-Kiss sounds better, but it’s hard to say if that’s the song (because they are indeed pursuing a new style) or if it’s the new group… Unless they perform an old U-Kiss song I really can’t say if they sound better or not.

OK, don’t kill me, but I have to break a fact to you: I’ve lived in Korea for 6 months now, and I can tell you that U-Kiss is not very popular here. Half my friends here didn’t even know who U-Kiss was, and the ones who did only knew of them from the “Shut Up” dance. Most of U-Kiss’ popularity comes from overseas fans, in Korea they’re pretty low key.

That’s why I can understand wanting to remix the group. They added Kiseop and changed their image, but it still didn’t gain them recognition. So now they change members. Again, I don’t think that was the right way to go about it, and again I can’t deny they sound better in “0330”…

As you can tell I still don’t really know where I stand on this issue. I understand why Kibum and Alexander were thrown out, but that doesn’t mean I agree with it. It only means I can figure out what NH Media was thinking.

  1. #1 by theblackcat1236 on May 11, 2011 - 8:20 am

    I don’t really have a side either… I’ve only heard “0330,” so I can’t compare talent yet. But I HATE it when people blame it on Hoon and AJ. They may be new members, but it’s not like they fired Alexander and KiBum to shove themselves in the group. I do have to say though, AJ’s English is better than Alexander’s accent-wise. So I heard they’re doing a US debut in the future, so that may be some of it.

    • #2 by tweetweetbang on May 11, 2011 - 6:09 pm

      Yeah, me too. I liked U-Kiss, but I was never really a huge fan. Personality-wise I really like Alexander ^^

      It drives me nuts though when someone blames new members for old ones leaving. That was a company decision, I’m sure none of them were enthusiastic. For me the people blaming AJ and Hoon are at the same level as Only 13 Super Junior fans, it’s just pointless and stupid to protest new members (or replacement members) in a group. It’s not like any of them have any say in it. They have to go where their company tells them, no questions asked.

Leave a Reply

