Mozeltov- ZE:A

I’d highly recommend ignoring this MV entirely and just skipping to their later stuff… I was personally looking forward to their debut until I heard this song, and so I ignored them until now. I consider them part of the BoyBand-Trio (ZE:A, Teen Top, and Infinite who seem to have had a similar debut and seem to promote at the same time). I’ve decided to give the whole trio a second chance, so here we go…

Lyrics: -5/5
… don’t look at me. I still can’t figure out what the hell this song is supposed to be about. It is filled with random English, only half of which even makes any sense (“Red Beat Down”???????????????) and randomly the world “Mazeltov” is mixed in. And I think this is where the blasted Rebecca Black got that stupid name-the-day-of-the-week thing… As far as I can tell it’s either about being left by a girl you love and trying to move on and have strength to live through the week… but it could be the other way around, with them telling the girl to have strength??? IDK, I’m not sure they even know what the song is about…
Mazeltov/ have strength/ mazeltov/ laugh/ mazeltov/ monday, tuesday, wednesday, thursday/ friday, saturday, sunday/ mazeltov/ monday, tuesday, wednesday, thursday/ friday, saturday, sunday

Dance: 4/5
There seems to be a little too much of standing in lines to show off how many members they have (9). We get it, you’re a big group, but with a song like this the dance really needs to kill. It’s not bad, I just think if the dance was supposed to clarify the meaning of this weird-ass song then it should have been a little more representative. It seems to mix haphazardly between styles- being arm-heavy and leg-heavy and including popping or a kind of jazz feel…

Story: NA
It’s just set-based for this MV (again, that would have helped explain what is going on…). It’s meant to show off the members and the group as a whole, nothing much else. And there are very very few solo shots. Some solo camera work is done even with the members dancing in the background, again reinforcing the whole group. AND CAN SOMEONE EXPLAIN TO ME WHY THERE IS A NAKED BOY IN A GLASS BOX IN THE BEGINNING?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!

Additional Notes
If the song made sense I would have rated everything much higher. The dance can’t make sense if the song doesn’t. You have to ensure they match, and it’s just kind of disjointed. Change the song and I’m happy.

The little clips I’ve seen of ZE:A since this MV show an incredible improvement (AKA- the song doesn’t blow). It has a good rythm and feel, but there is an incredible amount of English, 99.999% of which does not fit with the Korean… Heck, 70% of the English doesn’t fit the rest of the English. And from what I’ve been told of the group isn’t a member from the US or lived there for a time? The English should have been run by him…

  1. #1 by Molly Lewis (@TrAiLRiDejUnKiE) on September 7, 2011 - 9:31 pm

    ZE:A’s Kevin is Australian. =) Why don’t you review their video for “Watch Out”? I generally enjoy your reviews, even if I don’t necessarily agree with them; we all have our own opinions. I think my biggest disagreement was Beast’s “Penguin Dance”… if you ever tried it, you would realize how incredibly difficult it is. I would call it more of a “shuffle”…. but again, we all have our own opinions. So. On to suggestions… have you heard Daikoku Danji’s song “I Want To Take You Away Right Now”? They are the old members of XING (Dae Guk Nam Ah; Daikoku Danji is their Japanese name). They are definitely worth listening to.

Leave a Reply

